Short version

Alex Hernandez-Garcia is a postdoc at Mila, interested in the fundamental aspects of learning, both in brains and machines and in applications of machine learning to accelerate scientific discoveries to tackle the climate crisis.

Longer version

Alex Hernandez-Garcia is a postdoctoral researcher at Mila, the Quebec Artificial Intelligence Institute, in Tiohtià:ke / Montréal, working with Prof. Yoshua Bengio and Prof. David Rolnick, since December 2020. He defended his PhD thesis in 2020 at the University of Osnabrück, as a fellow of the Marie Sklodowska-Curie ITN NexGenVis, with the supervision of Prof. Peter König. He obtained his B.Sc and M.Sc. at the University Carlos III of Madrid and during his PhD he was a visiting researcher at the University of Cambridge with Dr. Tim Kietzmann and at the Spinoza Center for Neuroimaging with Dr. Serge Dumoulin.

His current main research interest is in the applications of machine learning to accelerate scientific discoveries to tackle the climate crisis. He helped create, a website to help us visualise the impacts of climate change in our own backyard. Currently, his focus is materials discovery and molecular modelling with machine learning. In particular, he studies and applies Generative Flow Networks (GFlowNets) for probabilistic modelling and active learning for exploration. Examples of applications are catalyst design to improve the energy efficiency of hydrogen storage and other energy-intensive industrial processes, or discovery of solid electrolytes to make better and safer batteries.

More broadly, besides developing potentially impactful machine learning applications, since his graduate years Alex has been interested in brain-inspired deep learning and computational neuroscience. Alex is also a strong proponent of open science and is active in initiatives about how making science more inclusive, equitable, open, reproducible, transparent and environmentally conscious. At Mila, he has been a Lab Representative and a member of the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee and the Sustainability Committee.